• Mao's Army Goes to Sea: A Book Talk

    Indo-Pacific Maritime Hour (via Zoom) --

    27 Jan 2023 – 09:00 (Singapore), 10:00 (Tokyo), 12:00 (Sydney)

    26 Jan 2023 15:00 (Honolulu), 20:00 (New York)

    Professor Toshi Yoshihara will discuss the research that went into his new book Mao’s Army Goes to Sea. Focused on the period from 1949 to 1960, the book New details about the founding of China's Navy reveals critical historical context and insight into future strategy. Dr. Yoshihara shows that Chinese leaders refashioned the stratagems and tactics honed over decades of revolutionary struggle on land for nautical purposes. Despite significant challenges, the PLA ultimately scored important victories over its Nationalist foes as it captured offshore islands to secure its position.

     

    To join please use this link to register with Zoom.
    You will need the link and passcode provided in the confirmation email.
     

     


    Toshi Yoshihara is a senior fellow at the Center for Strategic and Budgetary Assessments and an adjunct professor in the Security Studies Program at Georgetown University. He was previously the John A.van Beuren Chair of Asia-Pacific Studies at the US Naval War College and coauthored Red Star over the Pacific: China's Rise and the Challenge to US Maritime Strategy.

     


    Format: This event will be off-the-record.
    Moderator: Brian Waidelich

    Co-Sponsor: None
    Webinar Cost: Free of charge

All Posts
×