• Updating The Commander's Handbook

    on the Law of Naval Operations (Rescheduled to 19 July!)

    Indo-Pacific Maritime Hour (via Zoom) --

    19 July 2022– 07:00 (New York), 12:00 (London), 16:30 (Delhi), 19:00 (Singapore), 20:00 (Tokyo)

    The Stockton Center for International Law (SCIL), U.S. Naval War College (NWC), recently completed a 2-year effort, in coordination with the U.S. Navy, U.S. Marine Corps, and U.S. Coast Guard, to update The Commander’s Handbook on the Law of Naval Operations. This doctrine publication provides an overview of the legal rules governing naval operations in both peacetime and during armed conflict and serves as the essential reference of US military commanders at sea. The new edition restates international law, including providing some additional nuance and doctrinal revisions on unmanned systems, autonomous systems, information warfare, cyber operations, and outer space.

     

    To join please use this link to register with Zoom.
    You will need the link and passcode provided in the confirmation email.
     

     

    Guest

    James Kraska is Charles H. Stockton Professor of International Maritime Law and Chair of the Stockton Center for International Law at the U.S. Naval War College, Visiting Professor of Law and John Harvey Gregory Lecturer on World Organization at Harvard Law School, and Visiting Professor of Law at the School of Law, University of Reading. He has served as Visiting Professor at the College of Law and University of the Philippines, and Distinguished Visiting Professor at Gujarat National Law University. Previously he was Mary Derrickson McCurdy Visiting Scholar at Duke University Marine Laboratory and Chief of Naval Research Fellow at Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution. He is General Editor of International Law Studies, editor-in-chief of the treatise, Benedict on Admiralty: International Maritime Law, and a Permanent Member of the Council on Foreign Relations. Professor Kraska earned both professional and research doctorates in law and served as a U.S. Navy officer.

     

    Commentator
    David Letts is Director of the Military Law Program, and Director of the Centre for Military and Security Law, at the Australia National University College of Law. He arrived at ANU in late 2012 after a career of more than three decades in the Royal Australian Navy. David’s research interests centre upon the application of legal regimes to military operations, and he has written on topics including military justice, law of the sea, the law of naval warfare, international humanitarian law and the legal issues which arise on peacekeeping operations. Since joining the ANU College of Law, David has been a regular public commentator on government policy which affects the legality of Australian military operations and his opinion is regularly sought by the media.


    Format: This event will be off-the-record.
    Moderator: John Bradford
    Webinar Cost: Free of charge

All Posts
×