• A New Era of US-Japan Amphibious Capabilities

    Indo-Pacific Maritime Hour (via Zoom) --

    26 January 2022 at 11:00 (London); 16:30 Delhi; 19:00 (Singapore); 20:00 (Tokyo)

    YCAPS will host MG Nozomu Yoshitomi (JSDF, ret) and Col Chris Goff (USMC, ret) as a part of the Indo-Pacific Maritime Hour live webinar series. These experts will discuss the latest developments in the US-Japan Alliance’s capabilities to conduct amphibious operations. The Japanese contribution is increasingly focused on the deployment of the Amphibious Rapid Deployment Brigade (ARDB), a relatively new force that recently demonstrated its readiness to operate alongside US Force during the December 2021 Yama Sakura exercise. The US Marines have been rapidly refocusing on their priority mission to support naval power by integrating expeditionary operations in large naval campaigns such as those that some foresee in the Western Pacific.
     

    To join please use this link to register with Zoom.
    You will need the link and passcode provided in the confirmation email.
     

    Major General Nozomu Yoshitomi, Japan Ground Self-Defense Force (Retired), served as a field artillery officer, an intelligence analyst, and a researcher for more than thirty years. He is now a professor in College of Risk Management, Nihon University in Tokyo. His research covers Japan’s defense strategy, defense posture of Japan Ground Self-Defense Force, and humanitarian assistance/disaster relief. His recent article in English on amphibious operations is “Shore-to-Shore Amphibious Assault” in Proceedings, July 2020.

     

    Colonel Jonathan “Chris” Goff, US Marine Corps (Retired) is Senior Representative, Raytheon Missiles and Defense, Japan. He served in the Marine Corps for thirty years, deploying globally in support of military operations. His final active-duty assignment was as the Senior Executive Commander’s Representative imbedded in Japan’s Ground Staff Office in Ichigaya, Tokyo. He is a graduate of Japan’s National Institute for Defense Studies, the United States Naval Postgraduate School, the Japan Self Defense Force Command and Staff College and Virginia Military Institute.

    Format: This event will be off-the-record.
    Moderator: John Bradford
    Webinar Cost: Free of charge

All Posts
×