• The Indo-Pacific’s Undersea Balance of Power in 2021

    Indo-Pacific Maritime Hour (via Zoom) --

    18 November 2021 at 16:00 (Honolulu), 18:00 (San Diego); 21:00 (Washington DC)

    19 November 2021 at 10:00 (Singapore), 11:00 (Tokyo)

    VADM Robert Thomas (USN, ret) will offer his thoughts about recent changes in the underseas balance of power in the Indo-Pacific. Many of these changes are clearly visible in media headlines. For example, in April 2021 it was reported that North Korea was ready to deploy its 3,000-ton submarine equipped with three submarine-launched ballistic missiles. Later that month, an Indonesian submarine tragically sank with 53 crew members onboard and Indonesia reconfirmed its commitment to purchase additional South Korean submarines. In July, HMS Artful transited the Singapore Strait making it the first Royal Navy submarine to enter the South China Sea in many years. In September, South Korea tested its own submarine-launched ballistic missile and the newly formed Australia-United Kingdom-US trilateral security partnership debuted with a commitment to coordinate support for the development of Australian attack submarines with nuclear propulsion. Other developments such as technological improvement in the United States and Chinese fleet are also relevant.

     

    To join please use this link to register with Zoom.
    You will need the link and passcode provided in the confirmation email.

     

     

    Vice Admiral Robert L. Thomas, Jr., U.S. Navy (ret), is a professor of practice at the School of Global Policy & Strategy (GPS). The son of a career Marine, VADM Thomas graduated from the University of California with a Bachelor of Science in Civil Engineering. He holds a Master of Science in National Security Studies from the National War College. As a career submarine officer, Thomas has served on fast-attack submarines operating in both U.S. Pacific Command and U.S. Central Command theaters of operation. His assignments included USS Guitarro (SSN 665), USS Permit (SSN 594), USS Asheville (SSN 758) and USS Bremerton (SSN 698) where he served as a commanding officer. Additionally, he took command of USS Tucson (SSN 770) while serving as deputy commander, Submarine Squadron (SUBRON) 11. Thomas served as commander, Submarine Force, U.S. Pacific Fleet Representative West Coast; commander, Submarine Squadron 11 and commander, Task Force 74/54 in Yokosuka, Japan. In his last at-sea assignment, Thomas commanded the U.S. 7th Fleet. He assumed duties as director, Navy Staff in October 2015. Ashore, Thomas served as flag aide to the deputy chief of naval operations (OP-07); program analyst in the Secretary of the Navy’s Office of Program Appraisal; director of Operational Support (CNO N23); assistant deputy director for Politico-Military Affairs, Western Hemisphere, J5, on the Joint Staff; director, Plans and Policy (N5) for Naval Special Warfare Command; director, Strategy and Policy Division (OPNAV N51); vice director of operations, J3, on the Joint Staff; and chief of staff, J5, on the Joint Staff.

     

     

    Format: This event will be off-the-record.
    Moderator: John Bradford
    Webinar Cost: Free of charge

All Posts
×